500 words a day keeps the doctor away

For the past few weeks, I’ve had a tab open with a post in progress, but I just haven’t had time to finish it. This is not that post. This post is about why I haven’t finished that post.

As you can probably tell by the discrepancy between brain and writing posts, I have not been much enthused about the brain lately. This is partly because it takes a lot more research to write these research-oriented posts, but mostly because that’s what I’m working on all day every day anyway, and I need a break. Work has been busy, stressful, and I can’t wait until I’m done with it (6 more months!) so I can explore something else and hopefully win back the mental power I used to have in order to post regularly. The one thing that has gotten me out of work-mode lately, is 500 words.

For the last week and a bit, I have written 500 words of fiction a day. Sure, a week’s writing is about equal to what I would normally write on the first day of NaNoWriMo, but that’s not the point. I’m writing. Stephen King once said that all you need to do is write 300 words a day and you’ll have a novel by the end of the year. So that’s what I’m doing, to keep up the habit, hopefully keep improving, and try not to let work drive me insane. My next blog post, whenever it arrives, will get into what it is that I’m writing.

500 words! Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

